top of page

Healthy Habits: What is Love Language?

We all express and interpret love in different ways. Often, the ways we feel loved or valued by others are the same ways we show people that we love and care for them. Expressing love the same way you feel love is common, but it’s also important to understand the love languages of those around you.

In Dr. Gary Chapman’s book, The 5 Love Languages, he outlines five universal love languages. These five love languages are Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service and Physical Touch. Most of us recognize all the above as ways in which we receive love, but which stands out to you as the most important?

For example, my love language is taking care of people. When people come to my house, I make sure I have their favorite foods and drinks. I want people to feel cared for and valued; I want them to know that I see them. I make things look nice, clean and organized. It is easiest for me to recognize someone cares about me when they know what I like to eat or they help me clear the table after dinner.

While I know how I want to be loved by others, it is also important for me to recognize the love language of others. If someone in my life has a love language of Physical Touch, then it’s important for me to touch them and understand that when they are touching me, that is how they prefer to receive love. A sandwich is great, but a hug is they way they may recognize love. Love language has a lot to do with how we feel valued, and if we recognize how others love us, then we have information on how to make them feel valued and loved.

If you want to learn more above recognizing your love language and how this can lead to healthier relationships, feel free to contact me here to schedule your Free Consultation.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page